Reminders

Discuss rules and clarifications for Chronicles of Darkness (aka 2nd Edition/2E) publications.

Discussions can include books not available for play in Wanton Wicked.

Moderators: WW7 Rules Master, WW7 Administrators

Post Reply
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Reminders

Post by ChrisF » Thu Feb 27, 2020 5:54 pm

I'll be using this thread to primarily post reminders about parts of the rules that are fuzzy to some folks and need to be restated.


To start with: Striking Looks and Fashion do NOT apply universally. Striking Looks must make sense for the tag it has and the situation you're using it for ('Smokin Hot' does not make your character better at lying to someone not attracted to them, and 'Innocent' won't apply to intimidating). Fashion needs to make sense for the circumstance the Fashion is meant for and what it was designed for, and typically only applies for making impressions or socializing, unless specifically designed to do something else (like being scary and adding to intimidation, but nothing else). It won't improve subterfuge rolls, for instance, as a rule.

And to make it perfectly clear, unless a power or similar explicitly says that you can apply social merits or social equipment bonuses to the roll, you cannot. Mental powers are different from social rolls. Exceptions will typically be specifically listed; certain Occult equipment can improve powers, for instance, but that tends to be all they do.
WW6 Rules Master
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Post by ChrisF » Fri Mar 20, 2020 5:33 pm

As a note, you're expected to follow the spirit of the request limits, not just the letter of them. Combining multiple requests into one is not okay to bypass the per week (or otherwise) limits. Attaching new actions to an open request while also opening new action requests is not okay. Any other 'loophole' that gets around the spirit of loosening the load on Monitors and Narrators (or staff in general) is not okay. In the future, doing this will get the request denied, and it will still count towards your request limits.
WW6 Rules Master
Post Reply