Note on Public/Private powers

Discuss rules and clarifications for Chronicles of Darkness (aka 2nd Edition/2E) publications.

Discussions can include books not available for play in Wanton Wicked.

Moderators: WW7 Rules Master, WW7 Administrators

Post Reply
User avatar
Rules Master
Posts: 602
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Note on Public/Private powers

Post by ChrisF » Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:30 pm

So, because I've been asked a few times lately, I wanted to clarify. When powers are developed that have a 'Private' designation, that does not mean you could never possibly develop something similar yourself, it means you can't use typical 'put in an XP request and learn it' methods to learn it without learning it IC from the character (attach them to the request in such a case).

However, you CAN 'redevelop' a custom power designated as Private, if you have all the needed type/prereq/similar requirements. In this case, you submit to Custom queue noting what you're 'redeveloping', and this uses up your custom submission for the month. You then need to provide Justifications as if developing it from scratch yourself.

Hope that helped clarify!
WW6 Rules Master
Post Reply