House Rules Announcements

Discuss rules and clarifications for Chronicles of Darkness (aka 2nd Edition/2E) publications.

Discussions can include books not available for play in Wanton Wicked.

Moderators: WW6 Rules Master, WW6 Administrators

User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Re: House Rules Announcements

Post by ChrisF » Sun Sep 03, 2017 1:05 pm

Grappling has been house ruled slightly and given more clarification. The additions to the wiki are as follows:

*Damage done via the Damage maneuver, as well as similar 'success based' maneuvers, like Feed, deal net successes in damage/blood/etc, not total.
*Activating powers can be done normally if reflexive, and if you win the grapple roll for instant actions.
**Mages use the rules in their own book for spellcasting in a grapple.
*Clarification: When grappled, you do not lose your first turn if you haven't gone. You may still make a roll to 'contest' the initial grapple and try to escape, or do another action that the grapple wouldn't prevent.
WW6 Rules Master
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Post by ChrisF » Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:10 pm

Psychokinetic Resistance can now explicitly never be used to protect against 'Banes' for those supernatural creatures that manage to get it via special means. The prereq merit itself is unchanged, though.
WW6 Rules Master
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Post by ChrisF » Tue Sep 19, 2017 12:49 pm

Due to popular demand, Exotic Airs is now available via a temporary house ruled version of it (yes, I basically rewrote unnatural affinity from vampire), and is visible on the house rules wiki. Let me know if there's any questions or clarifications needed about it.
WW6 Rules Master
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Post by ChrisF » Thu Sep 21, 2017 8:13 pm

Clarification: Tech-Savvy is for mundane, physical equipment (including software). It cannot be used for 'Mystical'/'Occult' equipment, plans, repositories, creative works, etc. It CAN be used, of course, for labs and other tools that'd grant benefits to CRAFTING those things, but will not typically provide its bonuses to that sort of equipment directly.
WW6 Rules Master
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Post by ChrisF » Sat Nov 11, 2017 8:58 pm

Clarification:
Auspex 4 (Lay Open the Mind) and dreams: This works normally on someone sleeping (thus allowing dream-watching), but projected thoughts/images can't override actual Dreamwalking, nor does it provide any such abilities beyond what's listed in the Discipline.
WW6 Rules Master
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Post by ChrisF » Tue Nov 14, 2017 7:01 pm

Clarification: Cloak of Elements, Control Elements, etc
*Elemental contracts require an element be chosen with the purchase. An elemental affinity that lets you manifest or control two elements gives you the second for free, and that affinity is a cheap way to buy a second element for others, too.
*For Phantom Glory's Elemental affinity, it can be purchased multiple times for new elements (only the first is free for Elementals).

Obviously this is subject to change like everything else as the book approaches.
WW6 Rules Master
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Post by ChrisF » Sun Jan 07, 2018 1:03 am

"Once a chapter" and similar use prophetic powers done within requests can NOT be used again until the previous request has been closed out. And remember, a chapter is a week, story is a month, and chronicle is 3 months, in between uses.
WW6 Rules Master
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Post by ChrisF » Wed Jan 17, 2018 10:00 pm

Clarification: We do allow Sanctity of Merits to be used to just get XP, and it can be banked.
WW6 Rules Master
ScottH
Player
Posts: 10
Joined: Mon Jan 01, 2018 2:34 pm

Post by ScottH » Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:40 pm

Starting immediately, the following rules will be in effect for all supernatural effects (spells, contracts, rites, rituals, etc.) with extended duration.
Any effect with an intended duration greater than one Chapter (1 week) must be submitted via the Request system for review by a Narrator or STM prior to being used.
Any effect with an intended duration greater than one Story (1 month) must be submitted via the Request system as for those in excess of one Chapter, and must also include a short scene or bluebook justification (this is your ritual, extended casting, etc.)
The longest any effect which is not permanent (lasting, indefinite duration, etc) may last is one Chronicle (3 months).
In addition, for bookkeeping reasons, all effects with a duration of one Chapter (week) will end at midnight on Saturday (server time), one Story will end at midnight on the last day of the month, and one Chronicle will end at midnight on the last day of the Quarter (Jan-March, April-June, July-Sept, Oct-Dec). Naturally, allowances may be made for specific scenes or storylines that extend beyond these limits.
BeccaH
Integral Player
Posts: 115
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2016 12:22 am

Post by BeccaH » Thu Apr 26, 2018 12:12 am

ScottH wrote: Tue Mar 06, 2018 8:40 pm Starting immediately, the following rules will be in effect for all supernatural effects (spells, contracts, rites, rituals, etc.) with extended duration.
Any effect with an intended duration greater than one Chapter (1 week) must be submitted via the Request system for review by a Narrator or STM prior to being used.
Any effect with an intended duration greater than one Story (1 month) must be submitted via the Request system as for those in excess of one Chapter, and must also include a short scene or bluebook justification (this is your ritual, extended casting, etc.)
The longest any effect which is not permanent (lasting, indefinite duration, etc) may last is one Chronicle (3 months).
In addition, for bookkeeping reasons, all effects with a duration of one Chapter (week) will end at midnight on Saturday (server time), one Story will end at midnight on the last day of the month, and one Chronicle will end at midnight on the last day of the Quarter (Jan-March, April-June, July-Sept, Oct-Dec). Naturally, allowances may be made for specific scenes or storylines that extend beyond these limits.
This has been rescinded while we debate a better way to address the issue in staff.

Thanks,
The Staff
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Post by ChrisF » Fri May 18, 2018 6:45 pm

The Embassy Wards have been updated on the Embassy page: https://wantonwicked.gamingsandbox.com/ ... ty/Embassy
We're hoping this will be a bit clearer and in depth as to when they apply and how. If there's any uncertainties, please submit Feedback to the Rulesmaster request queue!
WW6 Rules Master
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Post by ChrisF » Thu May 31, 2018 8:03 pm

So, slight tweak of Clash of Wills rules; when Clashing via an Attribute, only your BASE attribute level gets added to the Clash, not anything from magical enhancements. This is to keep Attribute-based Clash on the same level of those going off other trait levels (Renown, Arcana, etc) that aren't so readily improved temporarily. General dice bonuses, Power Stat bonuses, dice tricks, and other such effects can still affect your Clash Pool.
As well, clarifying that Clash of Wills is subject to multiple action penalties, despite not being an action itself, per se; continued attempts to break past a shield or a mental veil start to take their toll.
WW6 Rules Master
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Post by ChrisF » Sat Jun 16, 2018 1:25 am

Made a clarification in our house rules that minor/casual power usages aren't going to be brutally enforced; if you want to float a drink across the room with telekinesis or similar without making a roll or spending wp/energy, that's fine. However, this obviously isn't for anything resisted, contested, or providing lasting benefits or effects past the scene. Just little things that add flavor to the scene.

EDIT: TO Clarify, the Embassy Wards DO count as 'resisting' all abilities, and so you can't forgo the usual penalized roll there.
WW6 Rules Master
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Post by ChrisF » Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:28 pm

Noted in the Merit prereqs section that MCI only lets you bypass merit prerequisites if providing a specific merit or 1 of a very specific list of merits, not if it gives you X of a category (like Fighting Style dots).
WW6 Rules Master
User avatar
ChrisF
Rules Master
Posts: 639
Joined: Mon Jul 18, 2011 4:46 am

Post by ChrisF » Sat Jun 23, 2018 1:13 pm

MCI rules have shifted slightly; you may slightly tweak merits even before level 5, and this has been reflected in the wiki. Please do not abuse this; only 1 or so levels other than 5 itself should be tweaked for a given Cult, as a general rule.

For those that have already submitted MCIs that had to deal with the old rule, and that want to tweak their progression, submit it to my Custom Items/Powers queue for re-evaluation.
WW6 Rules Master
Locked