Search found 392 matches

by ChrisF
Sat Jan 06, 2018 8:15 pm
Forum: New System: Chronicles of Darkness
Topic: Totem changes
Replies: 1
Views: 2819

Totem changes

After speaking with the Storymasters, we've decided to make a few changes to how Totems currently work in 5.0. To start with, to gain the benefits of the Totem for a pack, you need to contribute at least a dot towards it. As well, fully supernatural creatures no longer inherently count as 'Wolf Bloo...
by ChrisF
Mon Dec 25, 2017 4:52 am
Forum: New System: Chronicles of Darkness
Topic: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)
Replies: 714
Views: 494692

Re: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)

If you were to use Chrysalis to transform yourself into an object(say, a chair), would you count as an object for the purposes of effects while within that form, or would you count as a Living creature? example: If I was a chair, Honing the Form could not apply to me, but Aegis could. In the vein o...
by ChrisF
Sat Dec 23, 2017 6:59 pm
Forum: New System: Chronicles of Darkness
Topic: "General Equipment"
Replies: 0
Views: 2671

"General Equipment"

So, as everyone knows, there's been a fairly 'standardized' way I tend to approve equipment, but that does mean people still need to go through me, which is time consuming both for players and for the Monitors that do the requests otherwise. So, the following rule is going to be put on the wiki for ...
by ChrisF
Sun Dec 17, 2017 12:57 am
Forum: New System: Chronicles of Darkness
Topic: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)
Replies: 714
Views: 494692

Re: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)

Gun questions! As I understand it, aiming bonus can only be applied against the first shot in a medium to long round burst. But! Can you make targeted shots in those same bursts? For instance, can you make a three-round burst against three targets and target the head with each shot? I would assume ...
by ChrisF
Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:47 pm
Forum: New System: Chronicles of Darkness
Topic: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)
Replies: 714
Views: 494692

Re: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)

Mage McForgehands creates an imbued item with their shiny new Prime 4 for personal use. Does Mage pay full xp if the spell isn't relinquished? Does Mage pay full xp if the spell is relinquishes by spending Willpower? Does Mage pay a discounted price if the spell was relinquished by exceptional succ...
by ChrisF
Mon Dec 11, 2017 8:39 am
Forum: New System: Chronicles of Darkness
Topic: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)
Replies: 714
Views: 494692

Re: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)

In the Fairest clause of the Riddle Kith Changeling contract, it says that the ling gets 'a number of appropriate Merit dots equal to her Wyrd'. Is that effected by things like Dual Kith or Potent Kith merits? Those don't usually effect things other than Kith blessings, but this is directly tied to...
by ChrisF
Sun Dec 10, 2017 3:14 am
Forum: New System: Chronicles of Darkness
Topic: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)
Replies: 714
Views: 494692

Re: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)

Raeras wrote: Sun Dec 10, 2017 1:56 am I think the answer is no - but if a vampire is Riding the Wave (with the fighting style at least) Can they end it early or do they have to get all 5 successes?
If they stop before the 5 successes they go into normal frenzy.
by ChrisF
Sat Dec 09, 2017 2:52 am
Forum: New System: Chronicles of Darkness
Topic: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)
Replies: 714
Views: 494692

Re: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)

If you have a spirit of fire thats a living flame, does it still naturally burn things when it touches them and have the same physical property as fire? That's up to the narrator running the scene, essentially. By RAW, for the sake of things like retainers and familiars, no. Hi. Was looking over th...
by ChrisF
Sat Dec 09, 2017 1:28 am
Forum: Off-Topic (OOC)
Topic: Couple Days off
Replies: 7
Views: 9217

Re: Couple Days off

I'm back. I'll go over my backlog over this weekend, though I tried to not let it pile too high. Still, sorry for the delays!
by ChrisF
Wed Nov 29, 2017 9:05 pm
Forum: Off-Topic (OOC)
Topic: Couple Days off
Replies: 7
Views: 9217

Re: Couple Days off

Once again noting I may be a bit sparse; I have a week+ long trip to take for work, and while I'll have my laptop I might not have the time or focus to respond to requests quickly. I'll still prioritize feedback/questions and get those done quickly, but there may be slight delays for custom stuff.
by ChrisF
Thu Nov 23, 2017 10:10 pm
Forum: New System: Chronicles of Darkness
Topic: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)
Replies: 714
Views: 494692

Re: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)

Retias wrote: Thu Nov 23, 2017 2:46 am The level 1 Time spell Postcongition. Can it only affect the Mage in question, or can the mage give others the chance to view the past?
By default, only the mage can be affected, since the 'subject(s)' of the spell are just the target for what the mage looks into.
by ChrisF
Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:54 pm
Forum: New System: Chronicles of Darkness
Topic: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)
Replies: 714
Views: 494692

Re: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)

Alright so if we have access to the right spells we can just make Enhanced Items despite there being no rules to make spells work the way they're listed in the merit? Like if I wanted a baseball cap of awesome intellect that granted the wearer +5 to Intelligence it seems like I'd just need Mind 3 f...
by ChrisF
Fri Nov 17, 2017 6:50 pm
Forum: New System: Chronicles of Darkness
Topic: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)
Replies: 714
Views: 494692

Re: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)

BloodyQuill wrote: Fri Nov 17, 2017 3:56 pm The enhanced item merit from mage confuses me a little. Using the rules for spell casting there doesn't seem to be a way to make items like there suggesting are possible. Am I missing something ?
Not in the book, no. But it also covers other permanently enhanced objects via spells in general.
by ChrisF
Thu Nov 16, 2017 11:34 pm
Forum: New System: Chronicles of Darkness
Topic: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)
Replies: 714
Views: 494692

Re: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)

Does the Mage write up for Universal Language, also apply to First tongue? It's my understanding that physically most humans can't physically form the words for the First Tongue. Thanks for clarification! It applies to first tongue, in that it'd allow someone to understand it, but it doesn't provid...
by ChrisF
Thu Nov 16, 2017 10:28 pm
Forum: New System: Chronicles of Darkness
Topic: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)
Replies: 714
Views: 494692

Re: Rules Clarifications (Player Input required!)

So then from what I read, anything 1-3 will pierce Obfuscate, anything above that does not? Just to clarify. Right Does the Mage write up for Universal Language, also apply to First tongue? It's my understanding that physically most humans can't physically form the words for the First Tongue. Thank...